November 26, 2020

A Constitution Minute IV

preamble-main_fullOn September 17, 1787 the United States Constitution was created. Eleven of the thirteen states sent delegates to the Convention and after many debates the Constitution was voted for favorably.

Nine of the thirteen states were required to ratify the document for the Constitution to become the supreme law of the land.

By July of 1788 all eleven states present at the Convention ratified the document. Both North Carolina and Rhode Island refused to ratify the document until it was apparent they were in danger of being treated as foreign countries. They both finally ratified and joined the United States of America.

The first order of business under the new Constitution was to elect a President and Vice President, which took place on April 30, 1789.  Washington took the oath of office and our Constitution and present form of government was born.

This minute brought to you by the James Stewart Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: