July 28, 2021

Brave Nation Awards Show Nominees (Special Olympics)

The Brave Nation Awards Show will take place Friday Night May 11, 2012 at the Heard County Middle School gymnasium. Tickets for the show are $10 in advance and $12 at the door and will include a hamburger and hot dog dinner with all the fixings.

All proceeds will benefit the HCMS Athletic Programs. The following are the Special Olympics Award nominees from each school.

As an added bonus one of the nominees in the Alumni Athlete division, Mr. Dennis Shaw, will be celebrating his birthday.

 Dennis serves as a volunteer when not competing.  In the past, he has been our Peanut Man representing Planter’s Peanut and handing out free packages of peanuts to athletes at Olympic Town.

Also, he was McGruff the Crime Dog during our Local Basketball Skills Competition at the Heard County Recreation Department several years ago. As McGruff, he posed for pictures with the athletes and gave out candy at Olympic Town.

Dennis is a great promoter of Special Olympics. He hangs up flyers to advertise upcoming  competitions and helps deliver letters and thank you notes as a part of the Annual Letter Campaign.

Additionally, he gladly assists elementary and middle school students at the area bowling competition at Junction Lanes each year. Also,he enjoys completing other tasks to help Ms. Spearman with the local competitions on the days of the events.

If you would like to be a sponsor for this awesome event which include lots of great advertising then you may call either Coach Allen Sikes at (706)675-9247 or Russ Massa at (706)489-6397. All donations are tax deductible!

Thank you for your support and congrats to our first ever Brave Nation Awards night nominees!


Brave Nation Awards Nominees Special Olympics

Heard High Special Olympics Athlete of the Year

***Buck Dunson***

***Robert Gosdin***

***Coleby Johnson***

Heard Middle Special Olympics Athlete of the Year

***Anthony Brand***

***Kady Patterson***

***Shinese Thurman***

Heard Elementary Special Olympics Athlete of the Year

***Justin Barr***

***Tommy Combs***

***Nigel Echols***

Heard Co. Alumni Athlete of the Year 

***Todd Hendrix***

***Tonya Hull***

***Dennis Shaw***




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: