December 3, 2020

Qualifying Candidates for 2018 Heard County Elections

(Franklin, GA) — The official qualifying period for the May primary and nonpartisan general elections ended at noon Friday setting the scene for the upcoming local election year here in Heard County.

Following qualifying three of the six races are being contested by multiple candidates.

For District 5 County Commissioner, David R. Walls (R), Derrill Scott (R), and Larry A. Pike (R) will aim for the seat with current commissioner Joe Adams not seeking re-election.

Incumbent Keri Denney (R) and James Perry will face off for Denney’s seat in District 2 and Larry Hammond (R) is running unopposed in District 4.

The other contested race will be for School Board Member in District 1 where incumbent Chad Wood is being challenged by newcomer David Marsh.

Incumbents Roger Harrod (District 3) and Ashley Awbrey (District 5) are each running unopposed. School Board Members are nonpartisan candidates.

The Republican and Democratic Primaries as well as the Nonpartisan General Election take place on May 22, 2018 with early voting commencing at 8:30 AM on April 30, 2018 and concluding on May 18 at 5:00 PM.

Early Voting will be conducted during regular business hours in the Elections and Registration Office (located in the Heard Health Center) at 1191 Franklin Parkway. Saturday voting will also be available on May 12. During Early Voting, the office remains open during lunch.

To vote early, all that is required is the voter must be registered in Heard County, and must present one of the appropriate forms of ID. You do not have to have a reason to vote early.

Stay tuned to for further voting information and a complete early voting schedule. See the final list of qualified candidates below.

2018 Heard County Election Qualifiers

County Commissioner District 2

(I) Keri Denney, Republican

James Perry, Republican

County Commissioner District 4

(I) Larry Hammond, Republican

County Commissioner District 5

David R. Walls, Republican

Derrill Scott, Republican

Larry A. Pike, Republican

School Board District 1

(I) Chad Wood, Nonpartisan

David Marsh, Nonpartisan

School Board District 3

(I) Roger W. Harrod, Nonpartisan

School Board District 5

(I) Ashley Awbrey, Nonpartisan



  1. Please remind all those candidates running as a Republican for any office, they are supposed to have conservative values, a good example of that is Gwen Caldwell.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: