January 23, 2022

HCWA Receives Gold Award

Pictured left to right are Darrell Brice (Waste Water Plant Manager), Ernest Earn (President- Elect of Georgia Association of Water Professionals), Bryant Snyder (Water Treatment Plant Manager), and James Ray Gosdin (HCWA Board Chairman) accepting the Gold Award.

(Franklin/Times-Journal) — Heard County Water Authority (HCWA) was honored on June 26  at the monthly meeting with the Water Gold Award and Wastewater Gold Award.

“This is an important accomplishment and speaks volumes about the exceptional commitment and level of service that HCWA provides their customers” states, Ernest Earn, President- Elect of Georgia Association of Water Professionals (GAWP).

GAWP is the State’s premier professional association for water, wastewater and related issues. They were founded in 1932 and started a voluntary licensure program for water professionals in Georgia, which later the legislature made mandatory.

For over 80 years the GAWP has provided the bulk of certified professional training for water and wastewater operators here in Georgia. GAWP is the nation’s second largest state level association of water professionals.

They are formally affiliated with several other national organizations, including The American Water Works Association, Water Environment Federation, American Water Resources Association and the Georgia Water Wise Council.

GAWP is a respected authority on water related issues and is routinely turned to by media, elected officials, and the public for accurate water related information and assistance.

The GAWP recognized the exceptional performance in the delivery of safe, potable drinking water, and the restoration of waste water to the staff at Heard County Water Authority.

The Gold award means that they have met all their water and wastewater permit requirements for the calendar year 2016. Earnest states, “It is no easy feat to win the gold award because there are a multitude of opportunities for permit violations over the course of a year.”

The Water Gold Award was presented to the Steve Lipford Water Treatment Plant for the 4th  consecutive year. For a facility to achieve the Platinum Award they have to go 5years without a single permit violation or else they will get knocked out and have to start over.

Wastewater Gold Award was presented for the Robert Canady Water Reclamation Facility for the 1st year.

Ernest said, “Heard County Water Authority should be proud of its staff for reaching this impressive level of achievement as he presented the awards to Darrell Brice, Waste Water Plant Manager and Bryant Snyder, Water Treatment Plant Manager. ”

Those in attendance for the presentation were Heard County Water Authority Board of Directors James Ray Gosdin Chairman, Loy Howard Board Member, Carrie Rutledge Secretary/Treasurer, Alvin Ginn Vice Chairman, Tommie McKeever – Board Member, Laurie Cook Executive Director, Jerry Ann Conner Legal Counsel.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: