September 25, 2021

Heard FFA holds Annual Banquet

2015-2016 FFA Officer Team (Back): Garrett Talent -Historian , Kyle Fomby - Sentinel, Karley Lego- Reporter ,Cole Holliday - Senior Vice President ,Zach Ball - President Front Row: Channa Cassell - Chaplin , Rachel Dyer - Junior Vice President , Mckensie Chesnut - Secratary Cody Yates - Treasurer

2015-2016 FFA Officer Team (Back L-R): Garrett Talent, Kyle Fomby, Karley Lego, Cole Holliday , Zach Ball — (Front L-R): Channa Cassell, Rachel Dyer, Mckensie Chesnut, Cody Yates, Director Dale McWhorter

(Franklin, GA) — The 2016 Heard High Future Farmers of America (FFA) banquet and awards ceremony was conducted in the cafeteria at HHS on Thursday, April 21.

The evening left the heart full, with plenty of laughter, food, and a sense of companionship. Guest speakers included David Huddleston, Randy Nix, and Matt Brass.

The program was led by FFA Chapter Director Mr. Dale McWhorter. McWhorter mentioned the many events the organization has participated in during the 2015-2016 school year including the Back-to-School Bash, Land Judging Competition, Carroll EMC Wiring Contest, Plant Sale, Lawnmower Contest, and football handicap parking just to name a few.

Michael Crocker, Chris Carroll, Katie Minix, McKensie Chesnut, Autumn Hall, Cody Johnson, Cody Yates, Chris Devlin, Kyle Elkins, Garrett Talent, Austin Brewer, Johanna Beyer, Justin George, Channa Cassell, and Steven Ponder were each recognized for earning Charter Degrees.

Scholarship Winners (L-R): Mantrell McRath, Cole Holliday, and Zach Ball

Green Hand degrees were awarded to Marissa Hollingsworth, Marissa McQuain,Christopher Norman, Dylan Brand, Michael Cheney, John Stubbs, Sarah Schofield, Blake McAdams, Shay Suddeth, Jessica Maxwell, Zach Meeler, Cody Meeks, Oren Richards, Justin George , Coy Hannah , Gabby Parra, Hadley Sanders, Timothy Skipper, Brittney Stover, Brew Covington, and Autumn Gosdin.

Cole Holliday, Rachel Dyer, and Zach Ball each earned state degrees.

Scholarships were awarded to Mantrell McRath, Cole Holliday, and Zach Ball courtesy of Reeves Supply and Carroll EMC.

The Most Valuable Member Award for 2016 went to Luke Fomby. Eight FFA jackets were also awarded to eight students courtesy of Reeves Supply and Georgia Farm Bureau. The eight students receiving jackets were Michael Crocker, Dylan Brand, Luke Fomby, Marissa Hollingsworth, John Stubbs, Blake McAdams, Marissa McQuain, and Jessica Maxwell.

The 2015-2016 officer team were also recognized individually. These students included Garrett Talent (Historian), Kyle Fomby (Sentinel), Karley Lego (Reporter),Cole Holliday (Senior Vice President), Zach Ball (President), Channa Cassell (Chaplin), Rachel Dyer (Junior Vice President), Mckensie Chesnut (Secretary), Madison Nelms (Parlimentarian), and Cody Yates (Treasurer).

The gala event was attended by 41 members and 61 guests including Heard County Commission Chairman Lee Boone.

Green Hand Degree - Back Left to right : Marissa Hollingsworth , Marissa McQuain ,Christopher Norman , Dylan Brand ,Michael Chenney ,John Stubbs,Sarah Scofield Front row left to right : Blake McAdams,Shay Suddeth , Jessica Maxwell ,Zach Meeler, Cody Meeks,Oren Richards

Green Hand Degree (Back L-R): Marissa Hollingsworth, Marissa McQuain, Christopher Norman, Dylan Brand, Michael Chenney, John Stubbs, Sarah Schofield (Front L-R):
Blake McAdams, Shay Suddeth, Jessica Maxwell, Zach Meeler, Cody Meeks, Oren Richards


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: