January 24, 2022

2014 Little Miss Heard Elementary Pageant Winners

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Franklin) — The Heard Elementary Fall Pageant took place last Saturday night in Franklin and this year’s theme was “Little Princess.”

The proceeds from the event organized each year by Ms. Wylene Spearman are used to help support the Heard County Special Olympics program. A large crowd of over 350 people filled the auditorium at Heard Elementary School.

The judges for the pageant were Julia Harris, Robin Veal Cheeks, and Ashley Griffin. As usual the job of the judges was a difficult task as all 42 girls that entered were worthy of being queens.

According to pageant organizer Spearman, the event is called a fall pageant instead of a beauty pageant because the girls are not judged on beauty alone.

“The girls in the fall pageant are judged in six different categories including Smile, Eye Contact, Poise, Confidence, Attire, and Overall Appearance,” stated Spearman. “The totals of all three judges are combined to determine the winners.” All of the entrants in the contest received nice trophies and special tiaras.

There were different winners named in the four categories including Tiny Miss Heard Elementary (Pre-K), Little Miss Heard Elementary (Kindergarten-1st grade), Junior Miss Heard Elementary (2nd-3rd grade), and Miss Heard Elementary (4th-5th grade).

“This was a great pageant as always — all the young ladies were just beautiful,” said Spearman. “I would really like to thank all of our sponsors from our letter campaign, our volunteers, and also our parents — without them we would not be able to have a pageant.”

The 2013 Pageant Queens were Miss Heard Elementary Florinda Galbreath, Jr. Miss Heard Elementary Emily Mattison Mock, Little Miss Heard Elementary Trinitee Jasiah Owens, and Tiny Miss Heard Elementary Joanna Foster. Galbreath (Jr. Miss in 2013), Owens (Tiny Miss in 2013) and Mock (Little Miss in 2012) were repeat queens from previous HES fall pageants.

In the Tiny Miss Heard Elementary category, the first runner-up was Ms. Lillian Taylor Thornton and the second runner-up Ms. Azhia Kendall.

The first runner-up in the Little Miss Heard Elementary category was Ms. Ariauna Brice and second runner-up went to Ms. Emma Beers.

First runner-up in the Jr. Miss competition was Ms. Ally Huey and second runner-up went to Ms. Jayden Boykin.

In the oldest age group (Miss HES), first runner-up went to Ms. Logan Dawson while second runner-up went to Ms. Daisy Steen. The judges had an extra difficult time in this category as all of the girls had to appear onstage two times in order to break a tie.

Announcing the contestants for the evening were Wylene Spearman and Deborah Slay while entertainment was provided by Taylor Brazeal, Tiana Spearman, and Ashley Griffin.

Sponsors of the event included Platinum Sponsors: Carroll EMC, Charles and Colleen Stephens, Gold Sponsors: Scott Rigsby and TSS Photography, Silver Sponsors: Pilot Club, Franklin Pharmacy, Mt. Carrie Baptist Church, Floyd W. Rivers Farm Construction and Bronze Sponsors: The Cuttin Crew, Sandra Nolen, City of Franklin, B. Thomas Miller, and L.L. Rogers and Son, Inc.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: