September 26, 2021

Local man graduates from 97th GSP Trooper School

(Forsyth, GA) — On April 16, 2016, 30 newly graduated troopers reported to their assigned posts throughout the state of Georgia. This is the 97th Trooper School for the Georgia State Patrol.

One of the graduates is 26-year-old James Anthony Fuller, a lifelong resident of Heard County and 2008 graduate of Heard High School.

James Anthony Fuller

James Anthony Fuller

Fuller received the “Highest Driving Proficiency” Award, one of four special awards handed out for top performance during the Trooper School.

The graduation took place on Friday, March 18, 2016, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth after 31 weeks of intense training.

Governor Nathan Deal was the keynote speaker.

Additional remarks were given by Colonel Mark W. McDonough, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and Capt. Scott Woodell, Director of Training.

The Oath of Office was issued by The Honorable Brian Rickman of the Georgia Court of Appeals.

Fuller and fellow Trooper Cadets spent 18 weeks at the academy, 12 weeks in field training, and returned to the academy for one week of preparation for graduation.

The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive a minimum of 400 hours of Basic Mandate Training.

At the completion of Trooper School, these newly graduated trooper cadets received over 1,500 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training which includes child passenger safety technician certification.

During remarks to his fellow class members, class president, Tpr. Jeffery L. Wilkerson, reflected on their time at the academy, the bond they created, and the importance of their roles as Georgia state troopers.

The four graduates receiving special honors for top performance in various fields of study were:

•     Highest Firearms Proficiency – Tpr. Michael T. Moores

•     Highest Driving Proficiency – Tpr. James A. Fuller

•     Highest Academic Average – Tpr. Jamie N. Quinn

•     Top Gun – Tpr. Larry G. J. Ray

Tpr. Jamie Quinn was awarded for maintaining the highest academic average. He received a $1,000 scholarship towards a Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University. Tpr. Quinn maintained a 98.2 academic average.

Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership:  Tpr. Jonathan E. Fetchik, Vice President; Tpr. Brent Sanford, Secretary/Treasurer; Tpr. Jeffery L. Wilkerson, Sergeant-At-Arms; Tpr. Darren D. Heard, Pennant Bearer; Tpr. Lindsey R. Barber, Pennant Base Bearer; Aaron R. Degourville, Chaplain; Jonathan E. Fetchik, 1st Squad Leader; and Nicholas A. Simpson, 2nd Squad Leader.

Each newly commissioned trooper was assigned to one of the 52 posts throughout the state. Fuller was assigned to the Villa Rica Post.

Anthony is the son of Terry and Jackie Fuller and the grandson of James and Patsy Fuller and Maxine Ortner, all of Franklin. His sister, Makayla currently attends Heard High and he is engaged to Adreinne Scarborough. He has an 8-year-old daughter Gracie.

97th Trooper School Assignments

Lindsey R. Barber Post 24-Newnan
Jonathan M. Bradley Post 52-Hartwell
Brandon C. Byrd Post 49-Motor Unit
Christopher S. Campbell Post 6-Gainesville
Aaron J. Chappell Post 49-Motor Unit
Jonathan W. Day Post 9-Marietta
Jackson R. Dean Post 6-Gainesville
Aaron R. Degourville Post 37-Cumming
John P. Donaldson Post 24-Newnan
Bradley K. Eagler Post 25-Grovetown
Jonathan E. Fetchik Post 15-Perry
James A. Fuller Post 4-Villa Rica
Brandon H. Gandy Post 25-Grovetown
Joshua D. Gunter Post 4-Villa Rica
Kevin S. Harrell Post 25-Grovetown
Darren D. Heard Post 14-Colquitt
Joshua J. Janufka Post 42-Rincon
David A. Kraeling Post 6-Gainesville
Jack L. Moore, III Post 6-Gainesville
Michael T. Moores Post 4-Villa Rica
Christopher G. Pletcher Post 9-Marietta
Stephen A. Pritchett Post 13-Tifton
Jamie N. Quinn Post 11-Hinesville
Larry G. J. Ray Post 52-Hartwell
Brent Sanford Post 49-Motor Unit
Nicholas A. Simpson Post 21-Sylvania
William A. Thomas, III Post 8-Madison
Joseph M. Vincent, Jr. Post 4-Villa Rica
Jeffery L. Wilkerson Post 49-Motor Unit
Austin A. Wynn Post 25-Grovetown

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: