May 12, 2021

Candidates Qualify for City Elections

(Centralhatchee/Ephesus) — Candidates officially qualified recently for the upcoming elections in both the Town of Centralhatchee and the City of Ephesus.

In Ephesus, Mayor Denney Rogers, City Recorder Dan Harrod, and city council members Paul C. Gosdin, Ray Gosdin, Donna Henderson, and J. Tony Rogers will each continue to hold their current positions. The only contested position will be for City Council Post 2 where Ralph Cates and Christopher Lynn Cumbie will face off for the seat.

Incumbent Mayor Barbie Crockett will run unopposed for Mayor of Centralhatchee as no other candidates qualified by the deadline.

At least some change will be coming to the Town of Centralhatchee, however, with a total of six candidates qualifying for the five available city council seats.

Incumbent council members Eley Loftin, Emmett Jackson, Barbara A. Norwood, Julia Rogers Hand and Walt Wiggins qualified to run for re-election in addition to newcomer Josh Gladney.

Because council members do not run for specific “posts,” voters in Centralhatchee will choose the top five from the full slate of six candidates with the top five vote-getters winning the seats.

The registration deadline to be able to vote in the city elections is October 7, 2019.

The Municipal General Election Day is on November 5, 2019 for the Town of Centralhatchee and the City of Ephesus. Polls open 7:00 AM – 7:00 PM.

Only registered voters from the Town of Centralhatchee and the City of Ephesus are eligible for this election.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: